Wednesday, September 26, 2012

the Seahawks-Packers final play

During the final play Seahawks than scrimmage taking Monday night. But more than 24 hours later, the country is still trying to shed the truth out of the knot is formed when Golden Tate latched onto a ball that has been held by the Packers' MD Jennings.

"I do not care," said Carroll coach during the show on 710 ESPN Seattle. "I do not care about any of that. Games Played, they call it. We played with them sending officials out there, we play with the team they put out there, and at the end of it, we throw the ball up and Golden made great effort ordinary. "

It's more than just that, though. It was passed, protection and everything from league replay protocol for its lockout on-field officials were questioned Monday night routine. And while the league acknowledged Tuesday that mistakes were made, it stops well short of condemning the final decision, and certainly not to reverse the result.

Those 11 seconds of Monday night will reverberate in the league throughout the season and beyond, and just play with put that under the microscope it is possible to understand what is happening.

1 One way Russell

Seattle had the ball at the Green Bay 24 facing fourth-and-10 with eight seconds left. The Seahawks sent three receivers into the pattern, leaving the tight end Evan Moore and running back Marshawn Lynch in for protection.

Quarterback Russell Wilson dropped back, then turned and ran to the left in what is called a flick. The problem? He called the play to roll to the right, which is why the left guard Paul McQuistan pulled to the other side of the field.

Carroll on 710 ESPN Seattle: "He's telling the truth, and we need to leave the huddle he called out clean anyway .."

What is Carroll: Yes, it was a mistake, but it did not end up costing us.

2 Tick, tick, tick

Packers have 11 sacks in the first two games this season. They had one against Seattle. Some of it is a result of the Seahawks game plan is more conservative than a red state, but some are commended for protection. At the end of the play the game, Wilson started with Tate as the primary target and have the time to look at the field for Sidney Rice and returned to Tate, throw the ball before he was hit by a Packers pass-rusher.

What Wilson said: "He was my first read, and then I scanned in, and nothing was open at first, and I scanned the right, back to my left, only because I knew the defense was going to flow with me a little, and I found gold there. "

What Wilson means: He had time to see all three Seahawks receiver sent to the pattern and threw downfield to the Tate, which both men were the first and the last he saw.

3 push comes to shove

Before Tate jumps to pass, he pushed the Packers cornerback Sam Shields to the ground. This clears the way for the take-off and eliminate the defender will air. Instead of having four defensive backs competing with Seattle two receivers for the ball, the Packers have three defenders.

"Did you see that?" Shields said of the shove after the game. "I feel it."

NFL statement said: "While the ball in the air, Tate could be seen pushing Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground is supposed to be an offensive pass interference penalty, which would end the game was not called and .. not reviewed instant replay."

What NFL statement means: OK, you need to hear there is an obvious error made in the play? This is it. He pushed off. It was obvious. It is also a judgment call that must be done in the field and not subject to review.

4 Tug-of-war

Packers' Jennings jumped higher than the Tate, and the first to have both hands on the ball. Replays confirmed it. Tate had his left hand in there, though, and one of the most important arm wrestling match begins.

Is Jennings must first?

Jennings: ". Yeah, most definitely"

Tate: "Maybe he did, but I took it from him."

Here is the question: Is Jennings establish possession of the ball before the Tate? If so, simultaneous possession does not apply. But establishing ownership requires more than catch the ball with both hands. It requires players to catch, build and maintain a position inbounds possession all contact with the ground.

Carroll: "It was a simultaneous when they get to the ground There is a slight advantage for the (defender) in the air, but it is not there you have to get to the ground and finish .. catch, and when we finished the catch, we had the ball and they have a ball, also. so simultaneous. "

5 The moment of truth

Tate and Jennings are both on the ground, each with two hands on the ball, even though Tate reached about Jennings, whose right shoulder chest Tate.

Judge again, Derrick Rhone-Dunn, and the judge Lance Easley was there, within a few meters of what at the time was only two scrum. Rhone-Dunn waved over his head, which is a signal for a timeout, at the same time Easley signaled touchdown. No conference, discussion, only one officer calls a definitive touchdown while others made a motion that does not apply given no time left.

What NFL statement said:. "When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball under the rules for simultaneous capture, the ball belongs to the Tate, the offensive player. Outcome of the play was a touchdown."

What NFL statement means: Pay attention to what the league did not say. This is not to say the call was right, it states what the call was. Decisions in the field is that the two players have a ball together, and in that case, the team is given possession passes.

6 After further review

It was a scoring play, and therefore subject to the review auto replay, the referee Wayne Elliott calls like that described pile.

What NFL statement said: "Replay official Howard Slavin stop the game to review the instant-repetition aspect of the game that were reviewed included if the ball touches the ground and who has possession of the ball in the end zone, simultaneous catches .. ruled out the terms was not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone .. "

What league means: Statement on ESPN after the game that the issue of ownership can not be reviewed is wrong. Not only could it have been reviewed, it was reviewed, because this play occurred in the end zone and not the field of play.

7 Drama standing

What the league said: "The referee Wayne Elliott determined that there was no indisputable visual evidence to overturn the call there in the field, and as a result, law-field touchdown stood The NFL referee Department reviewed the video today and support the decision. Was not to overturn the decision in pitch following review instant-replay. "

What league means: Words are important. The statement did not say the call on the field was correct, it was stated that there was no sufficient evidence to overturn the call made on the field. The difference is significant, and it is related to the procedure. League requires indisputable evidence to overturn the call, a higher standard than beyond a reasonable doubt.


◄ Newer Post Older Post ►